DUIs are, unfortunately, rather common. They are a serious concern that may cause many people to have questions about the basic DUI laws in Colorado. In Colorado, laws about driving while under the influence include provisions for both alcohol and drugs. The legal limit, or blood alcohol concentration limit, for driving while under the influence of alcohol is 0.08 percent. In addition, failure to pass a roadside sobriety test can result in an arrest for DUI. Those arrested for DUI are usually taken to a local jail.
Penalties for DUI can be serious and unpleasant. For a first DUI offense, the party's driver's license can be revoked for nine months. In addition, the driver can receive a fine ranging from $600 to $1,000, be ordered to attend alcohol education classes and complete up to 96 hours of required community service. Finally, a DUI offender can face up to a year in jail. Additional DUI offenses can carry increased penalties. After multiple DUI offenses, drivers may be required to install ignition interlock devices on their cars. Penalties can also attach for any attempts to start the car after drinking, as the ignition interlock device detects alcohol on the driver's breath.